making the world just a little bit friendlier

http://www.ticklebugs.com/pages/contests.htm

Higly recommended!!!

 

"Let’s face it, the expression "kill two birds with one stone" is very useful, but it’s not very nice. So let’s come up with a substitute!"

 

It’s a very nice idea for both kids and adults. We become more aggressive in today’s competitive society. I will repeatly tell myself "Take it slow…."

 

I like this idea:

Free two birds with one key.

Bev/ Old Greenwich, CT

^__^

 

Note: I also found this useful website —http://www.goenglish.com/Idioms.asp— 

"A penny saved is a penny earned" means that little by little you will save money by not spending your money. Example: "I’m going to give you $20 but I want you to put it in the bank; a penny saved is a penny earned!" Not spending money has the same result as earning money, so to save a penny is the same as earning a penny. "A penny saved is a penny earned" compares saving money to earning money one penny at a time. Example: "My dad never lets me spend money on things I don’t need. He always says a penny saved is a penny earned."

 

An old superstition says that if you cross your fingers (usually two fingers of the same hand) it will bring good luck. Example: "I don’t know what I will get for my birthday, but I am crossing my fingers that it will be a bicycle."

You cross your fingers when you try to make something happen by wishing that it will happen. A common saying: "Let’s cross our fingers and hope for the best." Example: "Good luck on your test tomorrow. We’ll be crossing our fingers for you!" Reply: "Thanks."

The meaning of don’t cross your fingers changes a bit. It means don’t hope too much for what you want to happen, because there is a strong chance that it might not happen. It means that you should not have expectations that are too high. Example: "It would be great if our team won today, but don’t cross your fingers." Example: "We are hoping that John will get accepted to medical school, but we are not crossing our fingers."

 

Every cloud has a silver lining means that you should never feel hopeless because difficult times always lead to better days. Example: "What am I going to do? My girlfriend has left me again!" Reply: "Don’t worry. It will be all right. Every cloud has a silver lining."

Difficult times are like dark clouds that pass overhead and block the sun. When we look more closely at the edges of every cloud we can see the sun shining there like a silver lining. Example: "I found a new job after all, and I like this one even better than the last." Reply: "You see? Every cloud has a silver lining."

Every cloud has a silver lining means that the sun shining at the edges of every cloud reminds us that every difficult situation has a bright side. Example: "This really is a tough situation. Do you think things will work out for the best?" Reply: "I’m sure they will. Every cloud has a silver lining."

 

This entry was posted in Art, Books & Funny. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

