See ya on June 1, Conan

 

My parents are here tonight. They taught me from day one: It’s fine to be funny, but if you have no character, none of it’s worth a damn.
 
….
 
Let me say something about Lorne Michaels. There are many young fans of the show who don’t know really… what… my personal history and how I came to host this show. In 1993, Lorne Michaels took the greatest, one of the greatest and most ridiculous chances in the history of this medium when he plucked a completely unknown writer with no television experience and bad skin, I’ll tell you about him later, and threw him on television. And Lorne always told me, ‘I have ultimate faith in you.’

Lorne Michaels single-handedly made my career in television. And, I don’t know what I did. I think I must have saved his life at some point. He certainly saved mine. So my thanks to him.

 
 
….
 
I want to say something about… we’re going on to this next gig, and sometimes I read that it’s time for Conan to grow up ’cause he’s going to 11:30, and I assure you, that’s just not going to happen. I can’t. This is who I am, for better or worse. I don’t know how.

 

   http://widgets.nbc.com/o/4727a250e66f9723/49a0c68f70b0f86a/4727a2501a2a0f59/3935e3b1

This entry was posted in Music, Movie & TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

